district logo all students achieving at high levels

Read About Our Spectacular EHS Students! - UPDATED



Art Show Award Winners
Congratulations to all the Art winners. Come by and see all their work in the commons, Hive display cases, Studio 1025 and the 1000 Building.. The winners are on display in case #8 in the commons.

Honorable Mention L. Cary Graphite “The Sun is Gone but I Have a Light”
Honorable Mention A. Brown Graphite “Riley”
Second Place R. Avila Charcoal “Bottle of Water”
First Place J. Fair Graphite “Paris”

Honorable Mention M. Soikes Tempera and Pastels “Technic Cloud”
Second Place L. Cary Tempera “Juggernauts”
First Place P. Vick Tempera “Sunset at Beach”

Digital Art:
Second Place J. Jolosky Digital Art “Shaping of a Legend MJ #23”
Frist Place J. Schweter Digital Art “CR Johnson Memorial”
Best of Show K. Johnson Mixed Media “Consumerism in America”

Digital Photography (over 250 entries this year!):
1st Place - Black and White A. Schuver “Dark Dock”
1st Place - Still Life H. Schmitt “Unity”
2nd Place – Digital Manipulation C. Weeks “Glass”
1st Place – Digital Manipulation C. Bone “Pink Petunias”
2nd Place – Animals A. Schuver “2 Jumper”
1st Place – Animals A. Schuver “On the Prowl”
2nd Place – Nature D. Griffin “Spring”
2nd Place – Nature J. Pacey “Ripple Puddle”
1st Place – Nature N. Stopsack “Mt Hood Sunset”
Best of Show – Photography R. Revell “Aged Photo”

Equestrian Team

Contributed by Courtney Bowie:
This past weekend our Equestrian Team earned 2nd place at State in Lynden.  They had 28 riders go to state in approximately 25 events. Our team received 7 gold medals, 16 silver medals, 3 bronze medals and 15 riders placed in the top ten! Congratulations!


Washington State FFA President

Contributed by Mark Berryhill, EHS Technical Education Teacher:
The Enumclaw FFA chapter is extremely proud to announce that the 2012/2013 Washington State FFA President is C. Snider. Last Week, at WSU in Pullman, the Enumclaw FFA attended the annual convention and he made the commitment to run for state office. After several days of interviews and testing with the officers committee, he was selected as one of the top ten candidates. The top ten candidates then gave a speech in front of approximately three thousand Washington FFA members, who then voted on their favorite. On Saturday May 12 2012 in the final general session, C. Snider was announced as president. He will be traveling the country for the next year promoting the FFA and Washington agriculture, including a trip to Washington D.C. this summer to talk to our federal government. Officers also typically take at least one international trip per year. Please congratulate him when you see him.

For additional information, read this article:




Contributed by Mike Nepper, KiHaku Judo Club:
This past weekend was the Pacific Northwest High School and Middle School Judo Championships at Kentwood High School. Competitors are from Middle and High Schools across Washington, Oregon, Idaho and British Columbia. Kentridge High School, defending Champions, again took the State Team trophy with 108 team points followed by Kentwood’s 46 team points, Kent Meridian’s 32 points and Enumclaw earned fourth place with 31 points.

Our team had only five returning players from last year. From Enumclaw, D. Cormier placed 2nd, S. Wei placed 3rd and C. Brocx placed 3rd. Team Captains, J. Paterson and S. Williams placed 2nd in their divisions. Congratulations!


SPSL 3A League Awards

Enumclaw High School’s student athletes and coaches are well represented in the SPSL 3A League Awards. Below is what has been reported so far by the SPSL:

1st Team:
T. Carlson - outfield
K. Nelson - designated hitter

2nd Team:
K. Nelson and Bryce Peterson - pitcher
B. Peterson - third base

Honorable Mention:
T. Hoffman - outfield
C. Wicks - catcher
C. Lathrop - firstbase
C. McCluskey - shortstop

1st Team:
C. Cox - catcher
S. Morrow - infield
J. Simpson - outfield

2nd Team:
C. Young - pitcher
A. Degroot - outfield
J. Pierotti - utility

1st Team:
J. Williams - midfielder
C. Gwerder - defender

2nd Team:
A. Walsh - defender
L. Olney - midfielder
D. Wood - defender
D. Anderson - goal keeper

Honorable Mention:
T. Koenig - forward
H. Olafson - defender

All-Opponent Team:
R. Norling
H. Smith
R. Holley
Coach of the Year—Rick Carel

All-Academic Team:
R. Holley
J. Koontz

Water Polo:
1st Team:
K. Larrea
A. Larrea
M. Lesmeister

2nd Team:
A. Birklid
H. Kinniburgh

Honorable Mention:
B. Davenport
Coach of the Year—Bob Averill and Ken Deman


Other Highlights

  • Track and Field competed at Sub-Districts.  Many athletes have qualified for Districts this upcoming weekend.
  • Fastpitch earned the #2 seed out of sub-districts.  Next up is Districts this upcoming weekend.
  • Tennis players K. Zillbauer and C. Clare qualified for State, but they still play this upcoming weekend for seeding.  R. Norling and H. Smith will continue to play this upcoming weekend to hopefully earn a spot to State.