March 27, 2006

Enumclaw School District Teacher of the Year Process

March 24 - April 28 Call for Nominations from Parents, Community, Staff and Students

May 1 - May 19 Selection of two candidates and Selected candidates complete application process

May 24 Materials for two candidates gathered and sent to PSESD

The Enumclaw Chamber of Commerce in partnership with the Enumclaw School District is seeking nominations for the 2007 Washington Teacher of the Year Program.

Since the Washington State Teacher of the Year (TOY) Program was established, it has enjoyed success in annually honoring one outstanding teacher. In 1963 and in 1970, the state program garnered national attention when Elmon Ousley, Bellevue School District, and Johnnie T. Dennis, Walla Walla School District, respectively, were selected as the National Teacher of the Year. The 2007 state teacher’s year of recognition begins on January 1, 2007.

If you would like to nominate a full-time teacher in the Enumclaw School District for this recognition, please complete a one-page nomination form stating clear examples of what the nominee has done for student and their school. Nomination forms can be picked up at the Enumclaw Chamber of Commerce office or downloaded from the Enumclaw Chamber of Commerce website or the Enumclaw School District website by clicking here.

Nominations are due to the Enumclaw Chamber of Commerce office by April 28, 2006 at 4:00 P.M. Two finalists will be selected by a group of parents and community members and these two people will move forward to the regional level. The finalists and nominees will be honored with retiring teachers at the annual Retirement Tea on June 12 at 4:00 P.M. in the Enumclaw High School library.